Health Service Executive (HSE)

South / South West Hospital Group (S/SWHG)

Joint partner with the Irish Center for Emergency Management (ICEM)

The South / South West Hospital Group (S/SWHG) is a Hospital Group in Ireland consisting of nine individual hospitals covering an extensive geographic region across the counties; Cork, Kerry, Waterford, Tipperary and Kilkenny. The Hospital Group’s primary Academic Partner is University College Cork (UCC). The Hospital Group includes a Model 4 Major Trauma Hospital as well as two major Cancer Centres, two elective hospitals and a number of smaller local hospitals which are linked in an ICT structure covering all clinical activity including maternity, geriatric and Paediatric disciplines.

The Hospital Group is integrated into a national health service (HSE) with full governance and oversight and with national protocols. The South / South West Hospital Group serves a population of approximately 1.2million and provides a wide range of inpatient, day case and ambulatory care services. The group has 2,139 in-patient beds and 382 day beds. The S/SWHG is integrated with and functions to support primary care in the community.